Pay It Forward Friday – Molly O’Keefe


Pay-it-forward-Friday

Pay It Forward Friday is my way of thanking authors who have done something that has helped me either personally or professionally in some way in the past years. Some I’ve only met online, some at conferences, and some have become long-term friends. Others may not even know what they did, or even who I am, but at some point they said or posted something that helped me or inspired me in some way.

They have no idea they are being featured here; I’ve secretly gone to their website and gathered their information. I hope you’ll look up their books and support them by buying a book (or a whole series) because they’re not only great authors but great people too!


A few weeks back I talked about Margaret Moore’s talk at the Toronto Romance Writers’ “Romance 101” annual event. Today’s Pay It Forward Friday author, Molly O’Keefe, was the speaker at the first Toronto Romance Writer meeting I attended as a member. At the time I’d tried a local writers’ group who were all about poetry and memoirs and looked down at romance. And a lot of on-line groups run by want-to-be-published writers who were insistent that you MUST. FOLLOW. THE RULES OF WRITING. Which can really screw you up. (Rules like never start with dialog, never use the word was … oh there are a whole bunch of rules they insist that you must follow in order to be published and if you don’t follow them, you’ll never be published. (This was back before self-publishing was acceptable.) Molly’s topic that day was “Writing the First Five Pages” but she addressed a lot of the rules and said how they were more like “guidelines.” (Nowadays most authors use the “pirates guidelines” phrase borrowed from Pirates of the Caribbean.)

Anyway, she gave a great talk that day, and helped ease many of my concerns and gave me a way to focus on what really worked, and what didn’t.


Molly O’Keefe has always known she wanted to be a writer (except when she wanted to be a florist or a chef and the brief period of time when she considered being a cowgirl). And once she got her hands on some romances, she knew exactly what she wanted to write.

She published her first Harlequin romance at age 25 and hasn’t looked back. She loves exploring every character’s road towards happily ever after.

Originally from a small town outside of Chicago, she went to university in St. Louis where she met and fell in love with the editor of her school newspaper. They followed each other around the world for several years and finally got married and settled down in Toronto, Ontario. They welcomed their son into their family in 2006, and their daughter in 2008. When she’s not at the park or cleaning up the toy room, Molly is working hard on her next novel, trying to exercise, stalking Tina Fey on the internet and dreaming of the day she can finish a cup of coffee without interruption.

(Leah here — Molly’s website needs a bit of an update because she needs to mention that not only has she been nominated for a RITA, but that she’s won TWO!)

Facebook-128Twitter-128
Perfect for readers of Susan Mallery and Rachel Gibson, Molly O’Keefe’s gritty and sensual tale of passion and politics features the brother of the heroine from the author’s beloved novel, Never Been Kissed. He’s a driven man who refuses to be distracted—until he meets a beautiful bartender who just may change his life.

indecent_proposal_OKeefeWith his chiseled jaw and thick blond hair, Harrison Montgomery was born to lead. Four generations of Montgomery men have served the state of Georgia, and now he’s next in line. Harrison, though, is driven to right wrongs: namely to clean up the political mess left by his father’s greed and corruption. But Harrison must first win his congressional bid, and nothing can get in his way—not even an angel who served him whiskey and gave him a shoulder to lean on and a body to love for a night. Problem is, she’s pregnant. Scandal is brewing, and there is only one solution: marriage.

Damage control? Ryan Kaminski can’t believe that a cold, calculating political animal now inhabits the body of the emotionally vulnerable stranger who gave her the most unforgettable night of her life. Really, she doesn’t want anything from Harrison, except to be left alone to have her baby in peace. But Ryan is broke, jobless, and essentially blackmailed by Harrison’s desperate family to accept this crazy marriage deal. For two years, she will have to act the role of caring, supportive wife. But what is Ryan supposed to do when she realizes that, deep in her heart, she’s falling in love?

Buy from Amazon Buy from Books-A-Million Buy from Barnes and Noble Buy from Indiebound Buy from Powells Buy from iTunes